banner_tod_all2.png

Fraud Detection

Laundering, VAT fraud, False invoices, Hidden financing

Detection of document fraud

Our client, a French ministry, wanted to improve the effectiveness of controls over the allocation of administrative documents.

The size of the database (nearly one hundred million records) and the variety of applications allowing the entry of information - most often manual entry - severely limited the effectiveness of fraud detection.

Solution provided by Tale of Data

Reconciliation of the postal addresses of recipients of administrative documents with the French National Address Database made it possible to obtain reliable and standardized addresses.

Multi-criteria (name + first name + address) and multi-strategy (phonetic, Levenshtein distance, N-gram, etc.) deduplication to spot people who have obtained several versions of administrative documents that are supposed to be unique.

Cross-reference using fuzzy joins, with other databases of the ministry on the name and first name (phonetic + N-gram) as well as on the date of birth (with a tolerance of a few days), in order to identify the people who requested several administrative documents that are supposed to be non-cumulative.

Benefits

The ministry was able to identify people (sometimes up to several hundred in the same county) who had several versions of the same administrative document allowing them to avoid sanctions. The phenomenon had gone unnoticed until then because of a few approximations in the spelling of the name, in the address (eg: street number mentioning the neighboring building) or in the date of birth (1 to 2 days apart). Aggravating factor: obtaining such documents was impossible without internal complicity within the ministry.

Standardized postal addresses have made it possible, by simple grouping and counting, to spot suspicious addresses used to request a number of administrative documents largely exceeding the number of inhabitants at the specified address (factor of 10 or even 100).

The cross-referencing of several databases has brought to light many cases of prohibited accumulation of administrative documents.

Other scenarios are possible, do not hesitate to contact us to discuss your business cases.

banner_tod_all2.png

Détection de fraudes

Blanchiment, Fraude à la TVA, Fausses factures, Financements occultes

Détection de la fraude aux documents administratifs

Notre client, un ministère, souhaitait améliorer l’efficacité des contrôles en matière d’attribution de documents administratifs.

La taille de la base de données (près d’une centaine de millions de lignes) et la diversité des applicatifs permettant la saisie des informations – saisie le plus souvent manuelle – qui s’étaient succédés aux cours des dernières décennies limitaient fortement l’efficacité de la détection d’irrégularités.

Solution proposée

Réconciliation des adresses postales des bénéficiaires avec la BAN - Base Adresse Nationale a permis d’obtenir des adresses fiables et uniformisées.

Dédoublonnages multicritères (nom + prénom + adresse) et multi-stratégies (phonétiques, distance de Levenshtein, N-gramme, …) pour identifier les personnes ayant obtenus plusieurs documents administratifs censés être uniques.

Jointures floues avec d’autres bases de données du ministère sur les nom et prénom (phonétiques + N-gramme) ainsi que sur la date de naissance (avec un tolérance de quelques jours) afin d’identifier les personnes possédant plusieurs documents administratifs non cumulables.

Gains obtenus

Le ministère a pu identifier des personnes (parfois jusqu’à plusieurs centaines sur un même département) qui possédaient plusieurs versions d’un même document administratif leur permettant de contourner certaines sanctions. Le phénomène était passé jusque là inaperçue grâce à quelques approximations dans l’orthographe du nom, dans l’adresse (ex : numéro de rue mentionnant l’immeuble voisin) ou dans la date de naissance (1 à 2 jours d’écart). Facteur aggravant : l’obtention de tels documents était impossible sans complicités internes au sein du ministère.

Les adresses postales uniformisées ont permis, par simple regroupement et comptage, de repérer des adresses suspectes utilisées pour demander un nombre de documents administratifs excédant largement le nombre d’habitants à l’adresse en question (facteur 10 voire 100).

Le croisement de plusieurs bases de données a permis de mettre au jour de nombreux cas de cumuls interdits de documents administratifs.

D'autres scénarios sont possibles, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter pour discuter de vos cas métiers.