top of page
  • Tale of Data

Optimizing data sharing? Grand Nancy testifies

Last update: 2 days ago



metropole-grand-nancy-logo


"I was looking for a simpler tool than a traditional ETL that would allow me to focus on the meaning of the data, their formats, to match data sets easily and would provide flexibility for evolution. In a way, it's a tool for managing data over its entire life cycle. Julien Glauzy, Data Administrator at the Information Systems and Telecommunications Department of the Greater Nancy Metropolis.


To meet the demands of its agents, the Greater Nancy Metropolis is seeking to optimize data sharing. The objective: to have a global view, to know them better, to improve their quality, and to unify the information systems from which they originate in order to gain in efficiency and quality of service.



What were the issues for Grand Nancy?

What are the contributions of Tale of Data? What were the reasons for the choice?

Key points for the Metropole of Greater Nancy

- Improve the quality of reference data - and facilitate sharing with the business lines and applications - to better respond to internal requests; create new services with high added value for the communities that make up the metropolis; - Define a data management framework, with the project managers and business referents, in order to better understand the data, ensure its dissemination, consistency and reliability, such as defining the life cycle of the data to be controlled; the principles of creation, storage, deletion, reliability, etc. - Meet the regulatory requirements of the RGPD and the Metropolitan Security Level for electronic data; - Build an infocenter, with a Big data collection logic, which allows the creation of long-term strategic management indicators.


Presentation of the Metropolis of Greater Nancy

The metropolis is a territory of 256,000 inhabitants composed of 20 municipalities. It is located in the Grand Est region, in the heart of the Lorraine region, and includes the cities and agglomerations of Thionville, Metz, Nancy and Épinal, for a total of 1.4 million inhabitants. The Greater Nancy Metropolis fulfills major missions in connection with strategic axes around economic development; transportation and travel; universities and research; new information and communication technologies; housing and solidarity; territorial development, mobility and the environment; major cultural, sports and leisure facilities.


The challenges of Greater Nancy

The number of different information systems - 20, i.e. 1 per municipality and the independence of these systems - implies having a specific decision-making strategy. All of this while meeting the regulatory requirements in terms of data protection, security and archiving. "I was looking for a simpler tool than a traditional ETL that would allow me to focus on the meaning of the data, their formats, to match data sets easily and would provide flexibility for evolution. In a way, it's a tool for managing data throughout its life cycle. says Julien Glauzy, Data Administrator at the Information Systems and Telecommunications Department of the Greater Nancy Metropolis.



Why did the Metropolis of Greater Nancy choose Tale of Data?

The solution is immediately obvious because of its powerful functionalities and its flexibility, which allow the processing of data for decision-making purposes. "I saw that it was possible to achieve a "quick win" and sometimes respond to very old problems. The tool quickly allows for an exhaustive approach to a set of data from a database or a file.

Exploration and formatting are very fast compared to Excel functions or an ETL. In addition, the approach to data means that we focus fully on the format, meaning and data sets, rather than on the technique, which saves time," explains Julien Glauzy. The software's interface also makes it easy to re-read a data flow, a bit like a book, which makes it easy to find what you have done with the data (transformation, formatting, mixing, etc.). "Here again, I save time and it's easier to share the process and results," says Julien Glauzy. In Tale of Data, the repository logic exists - so it is possible to make join strategies and combinations between numerous repositories, which cannot be done with SQL. Working with a repository logic is called Data Mesh*. This allows you to move from a centralized data infrastructure (data warehouse, data lake) managed by a single team to a distributed data organization (supplier/consumer/repository logic), which is what Grand Nancy does.

What are the benefits?

Tale of Data allows for quick response to requests. "There is a logic - among others - of data provider and consumer, so I have to deliver the requested service while making good use of the data" testifies Julien Glauzy. One of the key benefits of the solution lies in the automation of linking and reconciliation processes. "Rather than having data in the IS and building a data warehouse that corresponds to a single use, we build repositories by theme. When a request comes in, we combine the repositories we need from the ready-made repositories, already formatted. It's faster, it's extremely flexible," says Julien Glauzy. says Julien Glauzy. In addition to specific requests, and thanks to the data that can be taken from different repositories - always ensuring that it is fresh and complies with the RGPD - Julien Glauzy provides the IT Service Center with strategic management indicators to improve the quality of services provided. With Tale of Data we achieve at least 95% connections between data from different repositories, which cannot be done with databases. Thanks to the power of AI, the solution detects, for example, what is a name or not - recognition to within two letters or in full text - but also detects thousands of other data such as addresses, phone numbers, SIREN numbers, ..... Tale of Data lets you see what's in the fields and alerts you to what's not formatted properly. "When you are working with millions of lines, this represents an infinite saving of time," says Julien Glauzy. "In the end, I recommend Tale of Data for data mining, semantics, formatting, data combination, AI. That's what's fabulous, I can't find it anywhere else, in any ETL" concludes Julien Glauzy. * concept proposed by Zhamak Delghani in 2019


15 views0 comment

Recent Posts

See all
bottom of page

top of page

Optimisation du partage de données ? Grand Nancy témoigne



metropole-grand-nancy-logo


« Je cherchais un outil plus simple qu’un ETL classique qui me permettrait de me concentrer sur le sens des données, leurs formats, d’apparier des ensembles de données facilement et apporterait une souplesse d’évolution. En quelque sorte un outil de pilotage de la donnée sur l’ensemble de son cycle de vie » Julien Glauzy, Administrateur de données à la Direction des Systèmes d’Information et de Télécommunications de la Métropole Grand Nancy.


Pour répondre aux demandes de ses agents, la Métropole Grand Nancy cherche à optimiser le partage des données. L’objectif : avoir une vue globale, mieux les connaitre, améliorer leur qualité, unifier les SI dont elles sont issues pour gagner en efficacité et qualité de service.



Quels étaient les enjeux de Grand Nancy ?

Quels sont les apports de Tale of Data ? Quelles ont été les raisons du choix ?

Points clés pour la Métropole du Grand Nancy

- Améliorer la qualité des données de référence – et faciliter le partage avec les métiers et les applications – pour répondre au mieux aux demandes en interne ; créer de nouveaux services à forte valeur ajoutée pour les collectivités qui composent la métropole ; - Définir un cadre de gestion des données, avec les chefs de projets et les référents métiers, afin de mieux les connaitre, d’en assurer la diffusion, la cohérence et la fiabilité comme par exemple, définir le cycle de vie des données à contrôler ; les principes de création, stockage, suppression, fiabilisation,… - Satisfaire aux exigences règlementaires du RGPD et au niveau de Sécurité Métropolitain des données électroniques ; - Construire un infocentre, avec une logique de recueil Big data, qui permet de fabriquer des indicateurs de pilotage stratégique au long cours.


Présentation de la Métropole du Grand Nancy

La métropole est un territoire de 256 000 habitants composé de 20 communes. Elle se situe dans la Région Grand Est, au cœur du sillon lorrain, réunit les villes et agglomérations de Thionville, Metz, Nancy et Épinal, pour un total de 1,4 million d’habitants. La Métropole Grand Nancy remplit de grandes missions en lien avec des axes stratégiques autour du développement économique ; des déplacements et transports , des universités et de la recherche ; des nouvelles technologies de l’information et de la communication ; de l’habitat et de la solidarité ; du développement du territoire, de la mobilité et de l’environnement ; des grands équipements culturels, sports et loisirs.


Les challenges du Grand Nancy

Le nombre de systèmes d’information différents – 20, soit 1 par commune et l’indépendance de celles-ci – implique d’avoir une stratégie décisionnelle spécifique. Le tout en satisfaisant aux exigences règlementaires en matière de protection des données, de sécurité, et d’archivage. « Je cherchais un outil plus simple qu’un ETL classique qui me permettrait de me concentrer sur le sens des données, leurs formats, d’apparier des ensembles de données facilement et apporterait une souplesse d’évolution. En quelque sorte un outil de pilotage de la donnée sur son cycle de vie » témoigne Julien Glauzy, Administrateur de données à la Direction des Systèmes d’Information et de Télécommunications de la Métropole Grand Nancy.



Pourquoi la Métropole du Grand Nancy a choisi Tale of Data ?

La solution s’impose immédiatement de par la puissance de ses fonctionnalités et sa souplesse qui permettent le traitement des données à des fins décisionnelles. « J’ai vu que l’on pouvait faire des « quick win » et répondre à des problématiques très anciennes parfois. L’outil permet très vite une approche exhaustive d’un jeu de données issu d’une base ou d’un fichier.

L’exploration et le formatage sont très rapides par rapport aux fonctions Excel ou à un ETL. De plus l’approche des données fait que l’on se concentre pleinement sur le format, le sens et les ensembles de données mais plus sur la technique, d’où un gain de temps » précise Julien Glauzy. L’interface du logiciel permet également de relire facilement un « flow » de données, un peu comme un livre ce qui permet de retrouver facilement ce que l’on a fait sur la donnée (transformation, formatage, mixage, …). « Là encore je gagne du temps et le partage de la démarche et des résultats est facilité » commente Julien Glauzy. Dans Tale of Data, la logique de référentiel existe – donc il est possible de faire des stratégies de jointure, de combinaison entre de nombreux référentiels, ce que l’on ne peut pas faire avec SQL. Travailler avec une logique de référentiels s’appelle le Data Mesh (maillage de données)*. Cela permet de passer d’une infrastructure de données centralisée (entrepôt de données, data lake) gérée par une seule équipe à une organisation distribuée de la donnée (logique de fournisseur / consommateur / référentiel) ce que fait Grand Nancy.

Quels en sont les bénéfices ?

Tale of Data permet de répondre rapidement aux demandes. « Il y a une logique - entre autres - de fournisseur de données et de consommateurs, et je dois donc délivrer le service demandé en faisant bon usage des données » témoigne Julien Glauzy. L’un des bénéfices clés de la solution réside dans l’automatisation des process de liaison ou de rapprochement. « Plutôt que d’avoir des données dans le SI et faire un entrepôt de données qui correspond à un seul usage, on construit des référentiels par thème. Quand une demande arrive on combine les référentiels dont on a besoin à partir des référentiels prêts, déjà formatés. Cela va plus vite, c’est extrêmement souple » indique Julien Glauzy. Au-delà des demandes ponctuelles et grâce à des données qu’il est possible de prélever dans différents référentiels – en s’assurant toujours de leur fraicheur et de leur conformité au RGPD - Julien Glauzy fournit au Centre de Services informatiques des indicateurs de pilotage stratégiques afin d’améliorer la qualité des services rendus. Avec Tale of Data on atteint à minima 95% de connexions entre les données de référentiels différents, ce qui ne peut pas se faire avec des bases de données. Grâce à la puissance de l’IA, la solution détecte par exemple ce qui est un nom ou pas – reconnaissance à deux lettres près ou en full text - mais détecte aussi des milliers d’autres données comme des adresses, numéros de tél, numéros de SIREN, ….. Tale of Data permet de voir ce qu’il y a dans les champs et alerte sur ce qui n’est pas bien formaté. « Lorsque vous travaillez avec des millions de lignes, cela représente un gain de temps infini » témoigne Julien Glauzy. « Au final, je recommande Tale of Data pour l’exploration de données, la sémantique, le formatage, la combinaison de données, l’IA. C’est cela qui est fabuleux, je ne le retrouve nulle part ailleurs, dans aucun ETL » conclut Julien Glauzy. * concept proposé par Zhamak Delghani en 2019


15 vues0 commentaire
bottom of page